5 Books That Got Me Back Into Reading

I didn’t enjoy reading in adulthood until I discovered these.

Nicole Kenney
8 min readSep 11, 2023
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

When I was a kid, I was a huge bookworm.

I would secretly stay up past my bedtime with a flashlight under the covers, telling myself “Just one more chapter”. My favorite gift cards to get were for Barnes & Noble. But as I got older, and more screens were added to my lifestyle from the rapid growth of technology, reading slowly disappeared from my life.

The nail in the coffin was high school. I had always been a strong writer and words came easy to me, but the curriculum of reading twice as many books as the other students (most of which I didn’t enjoy) killed any desire I had to read in my free time.

But, after a year out of college, I missed the structure of reading a good story or for knowledge. The extent of my reading was shallow social media posts and Reddit threads. I missed reading a good story and the escapism of it all.

After digging through my friends’ GoodReads profiles to get some recommendations, I picked up reading again and found some books I liked and wanted to share them. These are books I have thoroughly enjoyed leisurely for the first time in well over a decade.

1. “People We Meet On Vacation” by Emily Henry

--

--

Nicole Kenney

A place where I discuss fueled passions and blow off steam at the low moments. Come in and stay a while.