5 Differences I Noticed After Moving From Massachusetts to Florida

These two states could not be more opposite.

Nicole Kenney
4 min readSep 25, 2023
Photo by Lance Asper on Unsplash

Last month, I packed up my car with my boyfriend and started the 1,300-mile trek to the happiest place on Earth: Disney World. Now here’s the catch, I wasn’t driving to Disney to go on vacation, but instead to work here.

I enrolled in the Disney College Program in January 2023, a program facilitated by Disney that gives college students and recent grads the chance to work at the resort in a variety of roles across their theme parks and hotels.

Since I graduated last spring with no prospective opportunities in sight, I decided to take the plunge and work for a cartoon mouse.

While the Walt Disney World Resort can be considered to be in its own “bubble” in Florida, there is still an exorbitant amount of differences that have left me in a bit of a culture shock.

That being said, these are some of the biggest differences I’ve noticed after moving from way up north to way down south.

1. Traffic Lights Last Longer

I spent many mornings hurrying around my apartment to make it to work on time. While my job was only a 12-minute commute, it somehow still took me up to 30 minutes some days to get…

--

--

Nicole Kenney

A place where I discuss fueled passions and blow off steam at the low moments. Come in and stay a while.