5 Things I Wish I Knew Before Majoring in Theatre

No, none of them have to do with my future salary.

Nicole Kenney
4 min readMar 6, 2023
Photo by RUT MIIT on Unsplash

Last spring, I officially graduated with my undergraduate degrees Cum Laude. Hooray!!

The time of putting the blood, sweat, and tears into four years of college has finally paid off and I received my Bachelor of Arts in Theatre with a Performance Concentration. Additionally, I picked up a second major in Communications and received my Bachelor's in that as well.

And before you go off in the responses about why studying theatre may have been a “waste of time and money” I have absolutely no regrets about pursuing it. This was actually something I’ve wanted to pursue since middle school.

But with having this dream for so long came a lot of expectations I started creating. How it ended up being is not at all what I imagined.

That being said, I wanted to share all of the things I wish someone had told me before going to college to study theatre. Truly, there is no other major or program quite like it.

Disclaimer: All of these points are specific to my personal experience with the program I enrolled in. Every college is different and has its own set of standards when it comes to getting a specific degree.

1. It’s Very Similar to…

--

--

Nicole Kenney

A place where I discuss fueled passions and blow off steam at the low moments. Come in and stay a while.